Willkommen, bienvenue, welcome, come on in

PPdLCoverArt

If you arrived here looking for a free PDF copy of this book:

Painting A Portrait by De László (as told to A. L. Baldry),

you’ve come to the right place.

Click on the title link above and you will be able to download a new  (2013) PDF version of the complete 1934 Painting A Portrait by De László.

This 95-page book is newly formatted to a 6 x 9 size that fits most larger Nooks/Kindles/tablets. It contains all the original text, plus a lot of new commentary in footnotes (which I put in for my benefit because I created the book for personal use). Painting A Portrait by De László is a LARGE file (about 200MB) because I used high resolution (300 dpi) images of the photographs in the book. It may take 2 or 3 minutes to download.

Painting A Portrait by De László contains bookmarks,  links from the ToC to major heading/illustrations, and from major headings/illustrations back to the ToC for ease of navigation. There are also hyperlinks to various websites which supply additional information which I have found, and still find, helpful.

Painting A Portrait by De László went into the public domain in 1961 in the US and in 2007 in the UK. However, this is the first time anyone’s bothered to make a new, updated version available in a useable e-format. I wanted a modern e-version to carry around for easy reference. Too, I didn’t want to worry about getting my original dirty!

I love Philip de László. I own the book from which this PDF was made and I refer to it often. It’s made me a better artist, a better art critic, and a better person.

In this new version of Painting A Portrait by De László I have provided new color photos of referenced paintings in the second section of the book. I have also linked to these images their various museum websites where possible.

Also, in case any links to referenced painting in my commentary disappears in future, I provide an alternative way to view these additional works via the three reference painting pages above.

I share this book with you in hopes that you will share it with others and someday people will realise (once again): de László was one of the greatest portrait artists ever.

If you are interested in reading the original book without any additional commentary, a scanned PDF of the original 1934 Painting A Portrait by De László  is available by clicking on the title here. I created this 81-page PFD from my copy of the book using 150 dpi resolution. It’s 18.5 MB.

If you appreciate this work, please consider making a donation to The de László Archive Trust, a registered UK charity.

2 thoughts on “Willkommen, bienvenue, welcome, come on in

  1. Thank you so much for providing this pdf on de Laszlos painiting process. I just recently learned about him and I am very impressed. I am trying to learn how to paint and information like this helps tremendously. Your notes are very good and your many references will become new “avenues” for me to explore. Thanks again and happy painting!

    • Your very welcome, Robert. Philip de Laszlo has a lot to teach us all, and not simply from a technique standpoint.

      If you get stuck anywhere (ie, what I wrote didn’t make sense or you feel it conflicts with the original material) just let me know.

      Always happy to clarify one of my badly written thoughts!

Leave a Reply

